Gellan Gum

Gellan gum is a natural ingredient that has found a versatile role within the food and beverage industries. Gellan Gum’s properties make it a multifunctional gelling agent that offer stability and unique textures. To meet the growing need for organic-compliant and sustainable ingredients, more producers rely on this gelling agent for clean label food manufacturing solutions.

Keep your Gellan Gum inventory reliable and quality standards high. Trust Tilley Company (ISI) to meet your specific needs and serve as a reliable partner in supply chain management and ingredient blending. Contact a Tilley representative today to get the conversation started.

Jam Jars

Sauces Variations

Gellan Gum

Gellan gum is available in high-acyl and low-acyl grades, which are distinguished by further processing. Both types of gellan gum are exudates derived from the fermentation process of certain microorganisms.

High-acyl gellan gum – This type, also referred to as native gellan, is recovered after fermentation through a process called alcohol precipitation. High-acyl gellan gum yields a soft, elastic gel after heating and cooling. This gel is particularly versatile due to its thermal reversibility and suspension properties.

Low-acyl gellan gum – Like high-acyl, this grade also solubilizes when heated. But once cooled, it forms firm, thermally stable gels. Low-acyl gellan gum requires calcium to produce maximum gel strength.

Tilley Company is your top choice for both HA and LA gellan products.


Gellan Gum Application

Gellan gum’s characteristics make it a valuable ingredient in food production, personal care products, and other applications.

In food manufacturing, Gellan is a popular choice in:

  • Gelled Confections
  • Chocolate Milk
  • Soy Milk
  • Plant Based Beverages
  • RTD Protein Beverages
  • Fruit Juices
  • Sauces
  • Salad Dressings
  • Yogurts
  • Confectionary Foods
  • Fruit Preparations
  • Spreadable Jams
  • Low-Sugar Jams
  • Bake-Stable Jams
Sugar Cubes

Hot Chocolate

FAQs

Is Gellan Gum kosher?

Gellan gum can be certified kosher upon request. This certification may not meet requirements in all countries.

Is Gellan Gum halal?

Gellan gum can be certified halal upon request. This certification may not meet requirements in all countries.

Is Gellan Gum vegan?

Gellan gum is gluten-free allowed. Further gellan gum can be certified vegan upon request. This certification may not meet requirements in all countries.


Your Trusted Gellan Gum Supplier

At Tilley Company, we take pride in offering the highest-quality ingredients backed by an industry-leading supply chain and exceptional customer service. We know that our quality control, research and development capabilities, and emphasis on building relationships with customers will make your business more competitive.

Contact an ISI technician today by phone or email.